Placement of mouthpeace

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Hans larsen, Dec 9, 2006.

1. Hans larsen

Hans larsen New Friend

Dec 9, 2006
    Hi

I am a 15 year old boy from Denmark, and i have played trumpet for 6-7 years. At the moment i can play a high F but i would like to play even higher notes. So i got 2 questions.

1. One of my friends have noticed that i place the mouthpeace a bit to the left on my lips. Does this have an effect on playing high notes?

2. Are there any exercises that which could help me play higher notes?

/hans

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    due to some crooked teeth, I have been playing about 1cm off of center for over 40 years. I have had a double C for the last 30, so off center doesn't have to limit range.
    What exercises are useful depends on many factors. If you have an F above the staff at 15, I think you are probably on the right track. Your trumpet teacher should help you with this one.
    I use slurs to build range.

3. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    Don't forget to work on all the other parts of playing the trumpet while you learn to play high.

4. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    If you watch the German Brass DVD you'll see some placements that are right off the side so far that you'd think it was off stage! I wouldn't think a little right or left is going to hurt. More important is to watch the "up" and "down" placement.

5. Hans larsen

Hans larsen New Friend

Dec 9, 2006
    Thx for the help... the up and down placement should be 1/3 up and 2/3 down or 2/3 up and 1/3 down right?

6. cornetguy

cornetguy Mezzo Forte User

Sep 12, 2005
    Saint Paul, MN
    up down placement can vary. i play pretty close to 50/50 which can work fine too. remember if it ain't broke don't fix it.

7. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit