Playing 1 " tuning slide sharp

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by SteveRicks, Aug 31, 2009.

1. SteveRicks

SteveRicks Fortissimo User

Aug 15, 2009
    Alabama
    I was wondering if any other players ever had a problem with consistent sharp playing. I've been playing since 5th grade -now 55, and I have always had to pull the tuning slide out about an inch or so to match the rest of the band. Yes, I have an unusual embassure- 2/3 mouthpiece on top lip. I've tried severl times to change (when I was younger), with help from some of the best trumpet instructors in the state, but to no avail. I've played fairly good most of my life -2nd chair in two college jazz bands (A level bands). But when it comes to tuning, my slide is never out just the the 3/16 inch that is the "textbook" starting point.

Anyone else have this issue or found ways to correct it?

Steve

Olds Super 1946
    Olds Super 1962
    Bach Strad 1967
    Bach Strad 1970

2. lakerjazz

lakerjazz Mezzo Piano User

Oct 10, 2006
    If your tone is fine, then there is no need to change your embouchure. Some people, like me and you, naturally play sharp. In fact, some people's ears are tuned to sharp, so even if they pull out the slide very far, they will pull it a couple of cents sharp. All of these are minor "problems" that you don't have to worry about, especially considering that you've managed to be succesful.

I find it surprising that most people you play with pull the tuning slide out at the "textbook" starting point. My teacher and I have it pulled out at different lengths when we play together, and neither of the lengths is the "textbook" length. After all, there is a reason why the tuning slide is adjustable, right? We all have different playing characteristics.

3. chenzo

chenzo Piano User

Jul 18, 2008
    Aust