Playing a cold horn

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by fsteveb, Jan 12, 2016.

1. fsteveb

fsteveb New Friend

Jul 11, 2012
    Atlanta, GA
    I've been playing off and on for over 30 years. I've done musicals and played in local groups when I can. I mostly play in church these days.
    I had an experience recently that got me thinking if I am right, or just not experienced. I was playing a Purcell Voluntary with the organ at church a while ago and it was a pretty cold day. The area where the organ is has a padded table for the handbells which I laid my horn on during the service. The before service practice was great, but the song wasn't until the near the end of the service, so the horn got pretty cold sitting on the table. I didn't have much of a chance to warm it up, so I played it as it was. I found that on the high notes I had a hard time locking in the pitch. The horn is a Bach Strad Model 37 which I've played for about 2 years. It is definitely a lot more flexible in the pitch than my other intermediate horns I've owned. So is a cold horn a lot harder to stay on pitch and not wobble to the other slots, or was it just that I don't practice enough?

2. BrassBandMajor

BrassBandMajor Fortissimo User

Jan 13, 2015
    London
    When the horns cold it tends to go out of tune, but I leave if its just a tiny bit because once you play the horn warms up by getting itself in tune. Before I play in performance on a cold day just keep the horn with you and keep blowing through it, it helps a lot.

3. fels

fels Piano User

Jun 8, 2008
    Colorado Springs
    I find that merely holding the horn helps moderate the horn temp.

4. Bochawa!!!

Bochawa!!! Forte User

Nov 4, 2007
    Canada
    . . . is like suckling a witch's teet.

5. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia