Playing after long break

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by NotMyName, Jul 7, 2011.

1. NotMyName

NotMyName New Friend

Jul 7, 2011
    Sacramento
    After getting into trouble with my parents, they decided to punish me by not letting practice trumpet playing for 3 weeks. Now the 3 weeks are up and I can barely play anymore. My articulations and multiple tonging speed is just fine, but my tone which use to be clear, brilliant, and well supported is now weak, mellow, and airy. I've also lost a lot of my range going from owning an easy, full high E (along with a not so solid high G above it) to barely having a weak B above the staff.

This is really unsettling because in the past few months when I became serious about playing, and decided that I want to become a college music major and go professional, I started practicing seriously and made so much improvement and even made my school's highest band as freshman (which is big deal since most sophomores and even a lot juniors didn't make it), but now I'm back to sounding like I did a year ago, when I never practiced.

I tried taking it easy playing some simple exercises from Herbert Clarke's Elementary Method along with some of the simpler lip slurs from the slur section of the Arban's Method.

Can anyone recommend some things I should do to quickly regain my former ability so I can start improving again?

PS. In addition to the books mentioned above, I also own Clarke's Technical Studies, Characteristic Studies, and Set Up Drills if that helps.

Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    Ya, play your horn as you are coming back next to your parent's bedroom in the evening, and by the dinning room during dinner to let them know the errors in their ways. That'll learn em, dern em!

3. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio