Playing again after 30 years

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by gord4862, Dec 10, 2008.

1. gord4862

gord4862 New Friend

Nov 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Hi Guys,
    After 30 years I started playing my old Conn 22B.
    What practice books would you suggest I use to get back into the swing of things.
    Any suggestions will greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Gord4862

2. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    Clarke Technical Studies
    Colin Lip Flexibilities
    Schlossberg
    Arban's
    Focal Point - Rich Willey

3. gord4862

gord4862 New Friend

Nov 21, 2008
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Thanks

4. simonstl

simonstl Pianissimo User

Nov 25, 2008
    Dryden/Ithaca, NY
    I suspect everyone will have their own set of favorites. I just started playing again after 24 years away, and got the same "Breeze-Easy" books I'd used when I started in 4th and 5th grade.

It's nice for it to be familiar, and some of my memories from the lessons back then are vivid enough to be helpful. Eventually I'll work my way up to other books, but for just getting going again this is working out very nicely.

5. Darthsunshine

Darthsunshine Mezzo Forte User

Jul 19, 2008
    Seattle, WA
    I took 27 years off, and the first three on this list have been great for me. I'll have to look into Focal Point too :D

6. A.N.A. Mendez

A.N.A. Mendez Utimate User

Oct 25, 2005
    Sunny Ca.
    You're in for some fun! The memories from places you would not think. One that struck me was the odors of horns, cases, old practice books. Takes me back.....

7. oldlou

oldlou Forte User

Aug 28, 2005
    Grand Rapids, Mi.
    I have long since graduated from just playing from some hymnals to playing from all but the last of the mentioned books. It will all come back rather quickly, but, so do bad habits. Get yourself to a competant teacher. I was away for about 45 years.

OLDLOU>>

Last edited: Dec 10, 2008
  8. ccNochops

ccNochops Piano User

Sep 30, 2006