Playing cold

Discussion in 'Horns' started by Rick Chartrand, Jan 20, 2005.

1. Rick Chartrand

Rick Chartrand Piano User

Nov 22, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    Dear Toots

How are you today? After reading several of your posts I'm convinced that you are the guy to help me with my Problem.

I am a professional player and have been playing now for 15 years. I'm in between gigs now and am making a nice little living busking on the streets despite the cold. Here's my problem. I have a really nice Martin Committee that I wanna keep nice, and unless I am constantly breathing into my horn to warm it, my pistons freeze solid after about 2 minutes,and I have to go inside to warm them. So if I brethe into my horn constantly theres no problem with them freezing.

Here's the question. We are only in January and I know theres gonna be a few more months of this weather. Will performing out in this cold hurt my horn in any way? I can stand the cold and have a family to support but am worried about my horn? Thoughts?

Thanks Toots

Rick AKA Trumpet Man

2. old geezer

old geezer Pianissimo User

Dec 26, 2004
    Indianapolis,In.
    I used to play in a band that played outside in all kinds of weather. Bought a $40 Bundy at a pawn shop and in the real cold I would use alcohol instead of valve oil. Had to put more on every 15 min. or so but would keep the valves from freezing. You know its cold when the Sax's pads freeze down and won't move. Have fun and good luck. When it is that cold you can't worry about the beautiful tone of a pro-horn and the pro-horn has tighter tolerances so they freeze up faster. old geezer Dave :cool:

3. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!