Playing Flute and trumpet/flugelhorn?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by qigongjohn, Aug 25, 2006.

1. qigongjohn

qigongjohn New Friend

Aug 5, 2006
    Dartford, Kent, UK.
    Greetings,
    I have returned to trumpet/flugelhorn after a few years lay off,
    I have been playing Flute during this period, and wonder if anyone has
    any experience playing both instruments,regarding embouchure problems.
    regards John.

2. Meldog

Meldog Pianissimo User

Nov 24, 2004
    Blaine, ME
    As a teacher I have never come across a problem with people who play both instruments. The thing I usually come across who flute players really have trouble learning trumpet and trumpet players have a lot of trouble on flute. I have tlaked with many who are good at both but this is a common issue I see. I have worked my tail off on flute and have taken many private lessons and I can still only make a sound on like 3 notes on a good day..lol. I can do all the fingerings but making a sound is not easy. Most of my trumpet playing friends are the same. That's my experiences at least:)

3. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    I'm not 100% sure, but I belive Noel Langley in London plays both trumpets and flute.

-cw-

4. cornetguy

cornetguy Mezzo Forte User

Sep 12, 2005
    Saint Paul, MN
    I have known a couple that could do that double. Me I can't even get a sound out of the d***ed thing.

5. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    There was a guy who used to post several years ago out of San Diego... an acquaintance of Flip Oakes' I believe... who played semi-pro on both instruments. I "think" he gave up trumpet to concentrate on flute but not certain. Anyway, it seemed to work for him.

6. trumpet blower88

trumpet blower88 Mezzo Piano User

Jun 15, 2005
    Flagstaff, AZ