playing linked to depression?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by broazny, Oct 14, 2015.

1. broazny

broazny New Friend

Aug 31, 2014
    Trumpet playing is like a drug for me, even though is bad for me I still do it. I still remember the day when I thought I was the ****. However, that quickly changed when I found out my chair, last chair. my teacher would always yell at me, and I began practicing like crazy. I would dedicate 1 hour everyday, and started lessons. After listening to myriad trumpet players, I felt like I wanted to play trumpet for a living. But looking back, I haven't improved at all, lessons only really helped me on reading and technique. I would do the bill adams routine everyday with no results. I sound ****. the amount of time I dedicate to playing isn't helping at all. listening isn't helping at all. All the underclassmen sound better than me. Is it time to take a break? I feel like trumpet playing isn't good for me, but I still love the trumpet.

2. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    If you love it, then enjoy it. If you feel the trumpet is not good for you, then stop playing.

If you suck at it, and enjoy it, then play and enjoy it. Play the best you can when you play and practice.
    If you suck at it, and you don't know it - then maybe ask your teacher where he rates you. Don't delude yourself, but don't judge by your chair. The last chair is a good place to start. Playing in any band, in any chair is where the fun of making music starts.

At least you know that the others play better than you. If you want to make a living from it, then maybe this is not the instrument for you, but give it your best - I really don't understand how playing it can make you depressed. It should be a lift...

Maybe look at what you really enjoy.

3. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio