Playing Semiquavers Evenly

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by A2hok, Sep 2, 2008.

1. A2hok

A2hok New Friend

May 22, 2008
    Cambridge - UK
    Hi guys,

At the moment I'm playing this piece with a section of fast, slurred semiquavers continuosly. When playing my semiquavers seemed to get shortened or lengthened quite alot.

Any tips on how to play them evenly?

btw this happens in alot of my playing.

2. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY
    Start slow and even ,then slowly work it up to tempo.

3. A2hok

A2hok New Friend

May 22, 2008
    Cambridge - UK
    Is there a stage when its too late to do that. Thats how I started learning the piece but its been like 6 months and my fingers seem to get carried away. But thanks, I will try and slow it down, and speed it up again.

And another thing, anybody have any difficulty playing with a metrenome. I play in many bands, but for some reason everytime I'm practicing with a metrenome, I automatically ignore it. I just can't play with the thing!

4. GordonH

GordonH Mezzo Forte User

May 15, 2005
    Scotland
    Here is how I do it as I don't think anyone can actually count in semi quavers at a high speed.
    I use a mnemonic to keep the notes more even.

Triplets - straw-be-rry
    Semiquavers - wa-ter-me-lon

This might seem a bit crude but it works for me.

5. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY
    Make sure you BANG DOWN THE VALVES, its really important ,it forces you to play each note very delibert and even,good luck. As far as the metronome its like recording using a click track, you hate it but get used to it.

6. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    start slow, with a metronome and STAY slow. Do not gradually get faster. Perfect slow and then JUMP to much faster, perfect that and then jump again. Why?