Playing the upper register on trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mitzidemarco, Nov 12, 2017 at 11:53 PM.

1. mitzidemarco

mitzidemarco New Friend

Apr 4, 2012
    NJ
    I am sure there has been posts of this topic. I have been playing the trumpet for 28 years and still have difficulty playing in the upper register. I tend to tense up and just can't relax. It doesn't help that my teeth aren't the greatest, they're crooked and a few are broken. I am way too terrified to go to the dentist and probably will never go again because of a childhood trauma but anyway I can hit high notes but it is a struggle and I usually have to really press the mouthpiece against my lips really hard. I know this is no good but that seems to be the only way I can get out any high notes.

2. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    I'm sorry I haven't got time right now to write more, but I was a high-pressure player for 20 years or so -- to play notes above the staff, or anywhere really, I'd pull the trumpet so hard against my face I'd have an angry red circle on my lips after playing, and my endurance was counted in minutes, not hours. An hour+ concert would see me shot for a few days afterwards. I never had a teacher, having learned from "A Tune A Day" when I started out as a kid, and playing along with the community band, with guys who were just learning the same way I was, and probably developing the same bad habits.
    In my later 30's I stumbled across the internet (believe it or not I NEVER thought to search trumpet stuff out on the internet even though I used it for researching almost everything else) and this article:
    http://www.bbtrumpet.com/tensionless.html

I got in touch with Mr McLaughlin and he gave me some advice, and I bought his e-books which I worked on for a few months, and subsequently took a lesson with Greg Spence
    https://mysterytomastery.com/