Playing Trumpet with upper denture - urgent advice needed!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Littlejg, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Littlejg

Littlejg Pianissimo User

Mar 31, 2011
    UK
    I've been playing trumpet for over 50 years half that time with a permanent fixed upper bridge. Now it's life is approaching the end. Is it possible to play with a FULL (removable) upper denture? Doesn't the pressure on the gum shield affect the upper embouchure muscles? Implants are only an option if I win the Lottery! Any comments, help or advice would be great (hoping for good news.....but!)...........jg:-(

2. musicalmason

musicalmason Forte User

Dec 14, 2003
    Pa
    It is possible, I believe Chet baker and woody shaw both did it. I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure that's the story. I can't imagine playing with a removable denture being easy, but it seems to be possible.

3. Littlejg

Littlejg Pianissimo User

Mar 31, 2011
    UK
    Yes, the problem I will have is when all upper roots have gone there isn't anything to to support or link to a full denture. Most of my gigs these days are with a pro 18pc. big band, a lot of them have part upper dentures without problems. I know Chet Baker and others had major dental work and had to rebuild their chops, but I don't know if it was a part or full upper denture. I'm hoping for contact with some brass players who have experienced this problem and overcome it. Thanks for your interest musicalmason...........jg

4. odd67ar

odd67ar Pianissimo User

Apr 30, 2010
    Oslo, Norway
    I have been playing with dentures for over 40 years
    No problems at all.Need to have them adjusted every third year though.

5. Littlejg

Littlejg Pianissimo User

Mar 31, 2011
    UK

Hi, thanks for replying with your helpful comment, glad to hear that you have no dental playing problems, but do you have any roots left in your upper jaw at all?........jg

6. dlewis

dlewis Piano User

Nov 22, 2006
    RANDALLSTOWN MARYLAND