Playing when Sick

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by lakerjazz, Jun 3, 2010.

1. lakerjazz

lakerjazz Mezzo Piano User

Oct 10, 2006
    I have a bacterial infection in the throat, and I'm wondering if it is okay to play. It'll take a while to recover fully, but I'm well enough to move around and do things (play the trumpet)- I just don't know if the bacteria goes into the trumpet and then comes back to bite when I recover. Any doctors or scientists out there that can shed some light on this?

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    I am not a doctor, but I believe once you have had so much antibiotic you are no longer contagious and therefore you could play without catching the infection again.

3. SteveMac

SteveMac New Friend

May 22, 2010
    Columbus, Ohio
    Even if its safe to go ahead, I think now would be the time to give that horn a good bath.

4. lakerjazz

Oct 10, 2006
    I've had some antibiotic already, but I'll clean the horn also to be safe. Thanks for the responses guys

5. tedh1951

tedh1951 Utimate User

Oct 18, 2007
    The Wide Brown Land
    Yes, you don't want your little brass friend to get sick, now do you? ;-)

6. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    If you are sick, you do what you have to to get better. We have a pencil exercize for our chops, we can study scores, listen to music, practice fingerings without the horn. I do NOT play unless I have gigs and have no other choice.

We are not doing ourselves a favor by moving energy away from the healing process. For infections in the breathing apparatus, we are not doing ourselves a favor by sucking the bacteria ever deeper. Depending on how sick that we are, it is questionable how concentrated our practice is and therefore how much "development" actually would take place.

7. lakerjazz

Oct 10, 2006