Playing with an open throat to fight sharpness

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Learningon, Jul 27, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Learningon

Learningon New Friend

Dec 10, 2009
    I need some advice. I'm a freshman in HS and have been playing trumpet since 3rd or 4th grade. And I've always played sharp even with my slide out at least an inch. I asked my privet teacher about this past spring and he said it was because I was still young. I wasn't satisfied with his answer and the way he seemed unconcerned, but I was busy working out the rhythms and fingerings on my solo piece so I switched my sharpness to the back burner.
    Recently I untended a bandcamp at a college nearby. The trumpet guy who lead the sectionals pushed in my slide and told me I wasn't allowed to pull it out and my goal was to play intune by the end of the week. He told me to play much more open which worked. So, I've been playing with my throat open but I find it much harder to tounge. Am I doing something wrong or is it just going to take more practice to get my tounging back? I also find it harder and easier to play higher. I think I'm just ging to need to keep up with the open throat but I keep finding myself want to close up to play high. But yet when I can play high with openness it's easier. Anyway, I would love any advise, advisories or anything that could help me in anyway.

2. Scatmanblues

Scatmanblues Pianissimo User

Jul 19, 2010
    West Texas
    There's a lot of info in your post, and a lot to talk about, but I'm going to try to keep it simple.