Playing with braces. Tips please!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Learningon, Apr 17, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Learningon

Learningon New Friend

Dec 10, 2009
    My parents have decided that I need to get braces this summer. :( I've been playing for 6+ years and will start HS this in the fall. I've also been taking lessons from a Dr. at a local collage. So, all in all I LOVE trumpet. But, I'm terrified of what braces will do to my playing. My band director is gonna kill me since I'm the lead trumpet.

Does anyone have any tips or advice on what to do over the summer to improve my braces playing? Any advice or suggestion would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

2. a marching trumpet

a marching trumpet Mezzo Piano User

Feb 11, 2009
    Murfreesboro, TN
    well after the 1st month of your mouth being hamburger meat ,as mine was, your tone is affected along with range and endurance, one of my friends learned through my errors, become more efficient with slotting notes and range via the tongue not the chops, this will help your tone, plus when you get out of your braces your tongue is great, and when you use your chops you're range is alot better from when you left it before. my friend learned through my mistakes

3. RandyTx

RandyTx Pianissimo User

Mar 26, 2010
    Central Texas
    I just tripped over a device today on some music equipment site (sorry, can't remember which one) for this. It was a plastic strip that was molded to "snap" on over braces on one side, and smooth/rounded on the other. Basically advertised as a lip protector for brass players wearing braces.

I have no idea if it works or not, but it might be worth looking into.

I went through this, but way back in the late 70s. I hear now they have braces that mount on the inside of the teeth instead of the outside, no telling what other changes.