Please Listen to high school trumpet cadenza. Critics wanted

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Weedyweidenthal, Jan 17, 2006.

1. Weedyweidenthal

Weedyweidenthal Pianissimo User

Sep 25, 2005
    I'm looking for some criticsm on this trumpet cadenza that we have in the mask of zorro. The cadenza starts around the 5:50 minute mark i think... actually if you want you can just listen to the whole zorro song which starts at about the 3:50 minute mark. I'm the one with the double g... not my best but enough to impress the judges. All the 4 trumpets are in high school and have been playing together for about 3 years in a jazz band. I'm a sophomore. The senior plays the real part of the cadenza and the juniors play the other 2 parts. Matt opens up with the solo and then there is a quartet. Another soli quartet... trading solos and then the cadenza. The correct link is "Peach Bowl competition" near the bottom with the new arrow pointing to it... let me know what you think.
    http://www.bjhsband.com/page7.html
    -Weedy

2. uatrmpt

uatrmpt Piano User

Nov 29, 2003
    AL
    Hey Weedy,

I didn't know you were in Alabama. Bob Jones has a good program.

3. Weedyweidenthal

Sep 25, 2005
    lol... it's not as good of a program as you may think. We had a really good middle school director at Discovery Middle... the same can't honestly be said for the head director ad BJ. Don't get me wrong, he's a nice guy and he's a lot of fun... but i think he's gotten old and worn out. The assistant is the really good one. What part are you in?

4. bandman

bandman Forte User

Oct 16, 2004
    Lafayette, LA, USA
    As a band director who is getting "old and worn out" I'll give you a piece of advice -- never put on a public board that your band director is "old and worn out". More of us read these boards than you might guess!