Pocket or Cornet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet Dreamer, Nov 6, 2010.

1. Trumpet Dreamer

Trumpet Dreamer Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA
    I was considering buying a pocket trumpet to allow practicing while on trips (I travel for a living). After reading the Dallas Music article, I may buy a cornet instead. The article states a cornet is much better than a pocket, and good for travel as it is not much larger than a pocket. And a decent used cornet can be had for not much $$$.
    Any thoughts?

2. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    I've got an F.E. Olds cornet from the 50's that I picked up at a local antigue store for 40 bucks. It fits in an old 8 track cassette box (I think 9" by 18" by 5") which is way smaller than the trumpet. It does play reasonably close to the trumpet, a little shorter, and holds a little closer -- but it should keep the chops in shape.

3. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008
    If travel is your primary reason for gettting one, then stick with the pocket trumpet. I have one and it easily fits in a corner of my carry-on where a cornet would not. I also made a renuzit mute that can be crammed anywhere.

I have a cheap pocket trumpet that fills the need of keeping me in shape when I can't use my regular horn (and I also play it in my car at lunch). I'd never use it to perform on, but it's fine for practice. If you want something that plays nice, contrary to what the article states, you can still get a good one for less that $1000. The Pocket Max is a good example. The Pocket Max Trumpet Very good sound and priced around $650.

I don't play the cornet, and currently have no interest in them, so it wouldn't be an option for me. Also, most of the cornets I've ever seen are bigger than my pocket trumpet, so it would have to be packed separately when traveling.

4. lmf

lmf Forte User

May 16, 2007
    Indiana USA