Post Horn (RIFLE!?!?)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by eisprl, Jul 9, 2005.

1. eisprl

eisprl Mezzo Piano User

Sep 26, 2004
    Halifax, NS CANADA
    Hey folks

It has been a while since I've posted due to the fact that I have been away on military training.

OK, so our band is playing the post horn gallop on the 28th in Ottawa at the new War Museum. Myself and one other will be playing the post horn parts. I have no experience playing on these but our director (trumpet player) suggested to play it as if we were buzzing on our mouthpieces.

The funny thing is that at some point in the piece one of us will pick up a rifle stick a mouthpiece in it and play it :D

Can anyone give any advice on how to properly play one of these (or how to play a rifle for that matter) ????

Should be rather humourous
    Cheers
    Eric Sproul

2. trumpetmike

trumpetmike Forte User

Oct 11, 2004
    Farnham (a place too smal
    Post horn - it's just a short, straight, bugle (if you are using the ones that the Post Horn Gallop was written for). Play it the same as you would a piccolo without valves.
    The same will go for the rifle (yes, this is quite a common addition to the cadenza).
    I have done this piece a few times and we have used rifles, hosepipes, a radiator, a chair (it had metal piping holding it together) and have even seen a toilet being used - all for the responses it will get from the audience :lol:

I once saw someone try to play this piece seriously - it doesn't work - treat it as the joke that it is, have fun with it and just make sure you can double-tongue better than your oppnent, ready for that all important cadenza battle at the end :D

3. Happy Canuck

Happy Canuck Piano User

Oct 31, 2003
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Eric, a little off topic but what information can you provide about this years Fortissimo? Who else will be playing, and do you play other places or just on the Hill?

Yes, I normally try to make it up to Ottawa for it!