Power!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by reedy, May 11, 2010.

1. reedy

reedy Piano User

Jul 31, 2009
    Wiltshire, UK
    hey guys, im currently playing lead in a jazz band and have been for the past 6-7 months ive been asked to play for them by a sax player i knew (currently im in my 1st year at uni and this band is more of a school band.... 16-18 year olds) so i came down to help out as there were no trumpet players at the time but we have since recruted 3 more and a bone which is great! since then we have been given much harder music which is playable but its quite hard and alot of the time the MD askes me to put phrases down the octive although i can play the notes he feels i dont have the power to play them..... ive just been going though the pieces and i agree, especially after long phrases of high stuff i start to loose the power behind the note, even though the not is still there, clear and not a squeak, the power goes and the volume drops from F+ down to a MP ish area....

im currently using a bobby shew jazz (bach 3c) for normal jazz playing and a vizzutti (like a schilkie 13a4a) for lead playing.

should i use a MP with a bigger backbore? or maybe a slightly bigger cup?
    although i would rarther stick with them and work on it more, any recommendation to any excersizes that would help? I currently use the collin advanced lip flexabilities for range and also 'how to get a double top C in ten minutes' which has some good stuff in it......

any ideas?

2. dan42guy

dan42guy New Friend

May 6, 2010
    Fort Worth, TX
    Let me start by saying that I don't know you. I've never seen you play or heard you play, but here are some tips I think about anybody could use.

The best thing you can do is work on staying relaxed.