Practice Techniques

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Joshua712, Dec 6, 2015.

1. Joshua712

Joshua712 Pianissimo User

Nov 7, 2012
    Texas
    Hello! What are some good practice techniques that you use or have heard of? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

2. stumac

stumac Fortissimo User

Oct 19, 2008
    Flinders Vic Australia
    Tell us some more about yourself, how long have you been playing, what is your standard and your interests? Until we know there is not much we can recommend.

Regards, Stuart.

3. Joshua712

Nov 7, 2012
    Texas
    I am a senior in high school, I have been playing for almost 7 years now, I am preparing for the second and hopefully third stage of TMEA All state process. I practice regularly and with good discipline, looking for maybe some new ideas to maybe solidify or improve etudes that I've been working on since July. I plan on auditioning for a college studio next year, and pursuing a minor in trumpet performance. I hope this helps give you a little snapshot of me.

Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  4. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC
    All your life long: long tones, slurs, scales, and etudes from such as Arban's. Too, keep your instrument as clean as your body and as well maintained.

5. Joshua712

Nov 7, 2012
    Texas
    I agree completely, and I keep strong focus on my fundamentals. I was more wondering about practice techniques for working on specific pieces of music not playing in general.

6. Hotair

Hotair New Friend

Feb 8, 2013
    Oregon