Practice with a mute bad?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by GuyMcPerson, Feb 7, 2009.

1. GuyMcPerson

GuyMcPerson New Friend

Dec 29, 2008
    Hey all, beginner here again. I recently bought a wah mute, partly because my roommates were getting pissed at me playing the trumpet so much, partly because I really like the sound.

Anyways, since I've been playing now for about a week and half, my highest consistent note is the D in the upper area of the staff. But it seems like the high notes come out easier on the mute.

Also, I know it is true for guitar that it is not recommended to practice too quietly, or in the case of an electric guitar, with distortion because it makes mistakes less noticeable.

So basically, the short version is: Does anyone think mostly practicing with a mute is bad?

2. limbo

limbo New Friend

Aug 1, 2008
    POOPLAND, CHINA

Last edited: Jul 24, 2011
  3. johnMak

johnMak Pianissimo User

Dec 1, 2008
    Ridgecrest CA
    If the only reason we use the mute is to keep peace with room mates or the neighbors...we should try and find a place to practice unhindered. The trumpet, cornet is intended to be played freely.

I drive to Death valley often and I'm considering taking the cornet with me and playing out there. No one to be bothered at all. but I do have a place I can go and freely toot my own horn.

that should be our goal. If you want the "Wha Wha Wha" sound that some mutes add to the style of playing then practice with the mute. but being the peacemaker should be supplimented with free playing with nothing held back or muted in any way.

Just my experiences I'm sharing.

4. HSOtrumpet1

HSOtrumpet1 Pianissimo User

Nov 28, 2008
    Michigan