Practicing everyother day.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by nestbeast, Apr 5, 2011.

1. nestbeast

nestbeast Pianissimo User

Jul 31, 2008
    Cultural black hole
    I have been playing trumpet for many, many years. I have always had difficulty building up the strenght in my emboucher corners so that I could play comfortably in the upper register. I am thinking about changing my practice habits so that I can get more time for my muscles to recuperate. I am going to start practicing every other day. I am playing correctly - at least I thnk so. I find that when I am well rested, I start to have an easier time with playing above the staff and my sound is richer, and fuller. Changing mouthpieces has made no difference but the longer rest period has.
    I would welcome any oberservations or comments on this.
    Thank you.

2. schleiman

schleiman Piano User

May 12, 2010
    Austin, TX
    I notice the same thing about practicing in the morning, about an hour after I actually wake up and have had a cup of coffee. This is the easiest time for me to play. Everything just feels effortless and I'm able to concentrate more on the music and techniques as opposed to how tired I feel.

3. reedy

reedy Piano User

Jul 31, 2009
    Wiltshire, UK
    My teacher has given me a 2-2.30 hours but broken up into sections, with half hours rest in between so its more like a 5 hour practice with the breaks! and I do slurs every other day as a sperate section which worked really well to begin with but I dont think its quite for me, its working but not as well as I would like. I did it yesterday without much of a break, 5 mins max between sections and that worked much better I thought.

Think of it like your going to the gym, you need to build up to that level were you can play for 5 hours every day.