Practicing with other people

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by audwey11, Feb 2, 2016.

1. audwey11

audwey11 Pianissimo User

Dec 1, 2015
    Maine
    Hello again!
    When I started playing trumpet, my father decided to pick up the trumpet again and relearn. While I enjoy practicing with him, we have slightly different styles meaning I sometimes don't practice the way I want to, so I find it more productive when I practice myself. How can I make this process more productive for me?

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Enjoy the time with your dad! There will be a time when he is no longer there.

That being said, we maximize the experience by being prepared. Practice more than once a day. Play duets with your dad during one session and work on your weaknesses during another.

3. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC
    Ditto with what Rowuk just stated. Too, versatility is an accomplishment.

4. mgcoleman

mgcoleman Mezzo Forte User

Jun 22, 2010
    Iowa
    First, be thankful your dad is actively interested and supportive.
    Second, steer some of those opportunities towards ensemble playing and take advantage of having another player handy. Duets, etc...anything that forces you to listen, match, blend, move, express the music together. That will be productive for you and him.
    Third, tell him you need to talk and politely explain you really need regular time alone to woodshed through stuff. All good players need focused practice time. I seriously couldn't imagine your dad being anything other than impressed at your dedication and desire to improve.

5. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land