Pre-Screening Troubles

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by asoferr, Oct 30, 2015.

1. asoferr

asoferr New Friend

Oct 8, 2015
    Hello,
    I am currently 16 years old and I've been playing the trumpet for about 6 years now and I fell in love with it from the moment I picked up the horn. I am definitely going to pursue a career in trumpet playing and in classical music. I am currently trying to audition for some summer festivals and concerto competitions. But I have a problem; the moment I turn on the camera to record myself to send in the video samples, I start making mistakes that I never make when the camera is off. Missing notes, rushing, poor intonation, etc. But the second I turn the camera off, I am fine. I've come to the conclusion that for some reason, I am intimidated by the "audience" (being the camera) and let my nerves get to me. Anybody out there with this problem? Know of any solutions? Suggestions? Please help! Thank you!

2. Clarkvinmazz

Clarkvinmazz Forte User

May 11, 2013
    Oberlin, Ohio
    Try doing it with just a reccording device. I always uses them and it's a lot less stressful than being in front of a camera. Most, if not all music festivals should accept just audio. Also, which festivals? I've auditione and gotten into most of the bigger high school ones on the east coast, I might be able to help.

3. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    Welcome to TM asoferr.

What you're describing is probably very common. Learning to play in front of others (even a camera) is hard to do. Learning to play when when it really counts takes practice. I record myself all time, both when I practice and when I perform. For me, it's a good learning tool. For you, if you record yourself more often, it may help to desensitize you, and help you to relax.

Mike

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany