Private Instructor?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Heavens2kadonka, Jul 30, 2004.

1. Heavens2kadonka

Heavens2kadonka Forte User

Jun 17, 2004
    Lebanon, TN
    Okay, my county has two high schools. The one I graduated from, Smith County High School, has an EXCELLENT music program, one of the better ones in the middle Tennessee region! However, our rival school, Gordonsville, fares very poorly in such a department. 11 students, 3 trumpets, and not a real great prospect in the private instruction department. So, I have given thought to trying to privately instruct some of them (Hell, after some of MY instructors, I feel I should at least give a crack at it!). I know I'm not exactly "Mojo the Trumpet-playin' Fool," but I don't think I'm too shabby, and maybe I have a little gem of information or two to share with them......

With your help!! :p

I know you guys saw it coming!

If I were to try giving lessons to a younger student (from 5th to 10th grade), how should I approach it? What should I be listening for? What literature should I steer them to (For lyrical, technical, etc. Arban's a must, of course!), what is the first time as a teacher instead of a pupil like? Theres a heck of a lot of other things I really wanna ask, but I can't figure out how to pose them! Just give me an overview of how to do it (Or DISSERTATION if you care... :D )

2. dauminator3

dauminator3 Pianissimo User

I have recently found out what a drag not practicing is........
    Be prepared.......ne of my students can't play Clarke 1 in C for the 3rd week in a row. I think many are in this same boat, with not much that they can do......

Jared

3. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    Do yourself a HUGE FAVOR!

For students that have never had lessons before get the Mitchell trumpet series book 1, it seems that not many people have heard of it but it is by far the best book for young students.