Problem

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by nattrump, Jan 17, 2009.

1. nattrump

nattrump New Friend

Jan 17, 2009
    Hi to everyone,

sorry if I do not introduce myself, now, but I am in need of some answers to my problem.
    I am a professional trumpet player and, since some months ago, I got a problem related to my upper lip. The problem is that often the inside part of the upper lip get hurted. There is a sort of dark red "stamp" of the teeth". I have never experienced something like this before and can not find a reason for it. Sometimes everything is fine and I have no strange feelings, even when I play very high. Sometimes, instead, I practice in a very relaxed way and........problem comes up. I saw doctor, made a ecography but...nothing. Everything in my lips is fine.
    This problem is driving me crazy.
    Do someone of you have any ideas about what can be??
    Sorry again if I do not introduce myself now, I will.

Nattrump

2. Bach219

Bach219 Mezzo Piano User

Jun 25, 2008
    OH
    Welcome to TM!

Could it be because your using too much pressure?

3. Bill McCloskey

Bill McCloskey Piano User

Apr 22, 2007
    If you are a professional trumpet player, why are you asking for help on an online forum? Please go to a professional who can help you: either a doctor, or a trumpet teacher, or both.

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Nattrump,
    you make this kind of tough as we know NOTHING about you, your playing or anything else.

Any mark from the teeth is pressure related. Even playing with "low" pressure does not necessarily prevent damage to the lips. I assume that you have been to the dentist and have no sharp edges on your front teeth.