Problematic E above High C

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by zoowarlord, Sep 2, 2009.

1. zoowarlord

zoowarlord New Friend

Sep 2, 2009
    Hello, just joined today. I've been playing for about seven years, Four of those spent playing lead trumpet, and have used 3 different mouthpieces, Shiklie 14, Marcinkiewicz E9.1*Shew 1.5, and a Bach Megatone 3C, and am currently using the Marcinkiewicz although i do love the bach. In my entire history of playing, i have had a very strong problem with my accuracy in playing E above High C. I can almost never hit the note the first time, even with plenty of mental preparation and hearing the note beforehand, and can never play the the note in a run, it will always come out as a high F instead of an E. I am aware that this could be due to my relative inexperience as a player, but I do not believe that it is due to a lack of range, because i can clearly and accurately play Eb, F, F# and G. So, I know that you guys will have some advice for me, as to any way I could change either my playing hardware, my playing itself, my breathing etc [i have a mostly normal 1/2 top lip 1/2 bottom lip embrochure] in order to fix this problem, or to tell me somethign i could practice to make this note come out. Thanks in Advance!

2. trumpetnick

trumpetnick Fortissimo User

Nov 16, 2005
    Vidin, Bulgaria
    This is most likely software, not hardware problem. It may be breathing, tongue position, over-tonguing, embouchure control or ears...or combination of all the above. We all have the so called "breaking point" (or at least most of us do - for me this is concert f#).

3. zoowarlord

zoowarlord New Friend

Sep 2, 2009