Problems on playing Ad!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by shezza, Sep 8, 2011.

1. shezza

shezza New Friend

Nov 27, 2010
    Arnold Notts.
    Hi all, I am a newbie to the tumpet/cornet and can play a few songs, But this may sound stupid I cant play Ad the way it should be with 2 & 3 valves. But when I press valve 1 I get a good Ad any ideas please....................Pete.

2. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    what is an "Ad" ?? do you mean A-Flat??

Which register?? Just above the staff??

3. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY
    Hi shezza,

The trumpet is pitched in Bb,not C like piano or guitar ,so it sounds a full tone lower than concert pithch. A written C will sound Bb,a written Bb will sound Ab and a written Ab will sound Gb. That's why 1st valve sounds right to you,it's really a written Bb you're playing but it sounds concert Ab.

coolerdave likes this.
  4. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    yep, I'll bet that is what the OP means...

Trying to play Bb Trumpet to match a piano or some other C instrument.

5. mrsemman

mrsemman Piano User

Apr 8, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Pete,

I do believe that you meant to say A flat. Since you are a beginner, I would doubt that the note is above the staff. Regardless, If you can play an A natural (second space up in the staff), then an A flat is a half step or half tone down. the fingering for an A natural is the first and second valves down. The fingering for an A flat is, like you wrote, second and third vales down. The first valve down in that range would be a B flat or A sharp. If you believe that the first valve down sounds like an A flat, then you might want to check the tuning of your horn. There are some good ear trainers online to check, and which would give you a better idea of what the notes of a scale sound like. Like any other activity, practice helps.

Good luck.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
  6. SteveB