Puffy cheeks

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Double_G, Oct 7, 2005.

1. Double_G

Double_G Pianissimo User

May 4, 2005
    Gordonsville, TN
    I've noticed this week during my practicing that my cheeks have started to puff out when I play. It has never done this before and I don't know what to do. Any suggestions? Is it actually a sign of a good things i.e. me using more air and I just don't know how to control it yet.

Please help, Dub G :-(

2. Rick Chartrand

Rick Chartrand Piano User

Nov 22, 2004
    Toronto Canada
    I have been playing for 15 years and have never had such a problem. HOw old are you? Perhaps if you are an older player then your skin is just loosening up a little. If it isnt affecting your performance then I wouldnt worry about it. Dizzys cheeks went like that and look what that did for his career...made him even more popular :D

Rick AKA Trumpet Man

3. Double_G

Double_G Pianissimo User

May 4, 2005
    Gordonsville, TN
    I'm 16 and I've been playing for 7 years and I've never had this problem either. So, I don't really know what is going on.

4. eisprl

eisprl Mezzo Piano User

Sep 26, 2004
    Halifax, NS CANADA
    I have been playing for 12 years myself and have also noticed that I am using more air which is increasing my high range like nothing else, but sometimes at the expence of puffy cheeks. I know they don't actually puff out like Dizzy's but enough for my prof to notice and point out for me during a rehearsal when playing the picc :oops: Now that I think about it, it isn't really a cheek puff that happens with me. It is more of a pocket of air under the cheek bones. But I don't do it that often anymore.

If it is a big problem I say, just don't do it. That is what I tell myself when I notice it. Just don't do it ;-) then I stop.

Simple as that
    Cheers
    Eric

5. trumpet blower88

trumpet blower88 Mezzo Piano User

Jun 15, 2005
    Flagstaff, AZ