Question about chest pain/tightness

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Ktrompetta, May 8, 2009.

1. Ktrompetta

Ktrompetta New Friend

Feb 23, 2009
    I have a high school student who frequently experiences pain in his upper chest while playing. He has described it as a tight feeling. I have worked with him using a breathing bag as well as on the horn to making sure that he is getting enough air in and is moving it out without holding it in. Overall he is a good player with a good tone although he doesn't practice regularly. As a student I never remember having chest tightness like he has described. Can anyone help me out? I do not want him to injure himself or be discouraged from practicing. Also, I dont believe that he is hyperventilating because he has never experienced any severe light headedness. It seems to happen with him when he is playing between G in the staff to A/Bflat above the staff. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. robertwhite

robertwhite Mezzo Piano User

Nov 11, 2003
    Does he have asthma?

3. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    He needs to see a doctor.

Especially since he has told YOU about this.

4. Ktrompetta

Ktrompetta New Friend

Feb 23, 2009
    I dont believe that he has asthma. Thanks for the advice, I will definitely tell him to go to a doctor, and address this more seriously than I had been. I always figured it was something that would go away as he got more efficient with his playing, but now I am taking this very seriously.

5. RUFocused

RUFocused Pianissimo User

Apr 26, 2009
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Also, have him check to see if he has a nickel allergy. if he is taking heavy breaths than he could be sucking a small amount of air back through the horn and if is Valves are nickel plated this could cause a problem.
    simple cratch test (Doctor will do it) will let him know. if so... he needs SS or monel pistons.

6. rbdeli

rbdeli Mezzo Piano User