Question about Double C

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by bach37, Apr 19, 2012.

1. bach37

bach37 Pianissimo User

Dec 1, 2011
    I have been playing trumpet for about 14 years now. I take lessons. I have a decent upper range. As in E above the staff very consistant and can play on cue. F and G on good days. But to my question. I have been reading posts and it seems like everybody here plays Double C or Super C as I like to call it. Even beginners or come back players after a 30 year break. What's the deal. I just don't get it. My instructor can as that is understandable he is a very seasoned player and does it for a living. Just curious to see if they are just blowing smoke. Your thoughts?

2. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US
    After a quick rule check, your safe. But by the skin of your teeth.
    http://www.trumpetmaster.com/vb/f136/double-c-44646.html

I dont believe that everyone plays a super C here. I highly doubt it. The reason is all with the science of the trumpet. In the bell there are different points where different notes have their sweet spot. Once you get to the DHG there is no more room in the bell, so the sweet spot is outside of the horn. To get those notes it is all your lips and air, not the horn. That is why any note above High F is rare, some people can not physically do it.

Range is not important, not at all. Tell me, how many pieces have you played where the C is written in the part? I have never seen one. Usually it ends on high C and they take it up because they can. Style and tone trump range everyday. I say you only need a range to the D that is above high C. If you can get that, you can play 95% of all songs fine in terms of your range.

Read the first post in this thread: http://www.trumpetmaster.com/vb/f145/double-c-who-needs-49746.html Dont bother reading any other ones, I didnt go through them but I am sure someone in there disagrees.