Question For Deer Hunters

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by Anonymous, Dec 4, 2003.

1. Anonymous

Anonymous Forte User

Oct 21, 2003
    I am a bit new to the deer hunting scene but some of my friends are big time hunters.

Today while driving a car in front of me hit a deer in the road. A mid size Buck. I didn't see it happen but traffic stopped and when I pulled around I noticed the poor little fella moving around a bit on the ground. It was a sad site! The fella wasn't about to get up but he was far from dead

What would you have done in this situation?

If you had a piece on you would you have pulled it out and put this poor deer out of its misery? Is it legal to pull out a wepon on the street like that? There was traffic everywhere!

I just didn't know what to do so I drove around it and off. I don't know my way around deer that well and I sure as heck wasn't going to be able to do anything. I have been told that it isn't a good idea to get to close to a wounded deer because they have one kick. I felt real bad about this whole situation. Thoughts?

TM

2. Mikey

Mikey Forte User

Oct 24, 2003
    That is a tough one. I would have called the police and let them put the deer out of it's misery, even if I would have had a gun in the trunk. Teh reason? If I pull out that weapon, on the side of the road, with all those people watching, shoot the deer...Some Bleeding-Heart Bambi-Loving Liberal is apt to say I handled the gun in a "threatening" manner. I don't have the time or the money to be involved in a lawsuit.

Mike

3. Liad Bar-EL

Liad Bar-EL Forte User

Oct 25, 2003
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Don't pull your gun out in an area not zoned for hunting nor on a public highway. One shot heard from a person not knowing why you pulled the trigger could bring the police on you for sure. A suffering deer's throat could be cut with a knife which would even be the most painless way for it to die.