Question for the "educated" folk

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Bear, Feb 22, 2008.

1. Bear

Bear Forte User

Apr 30, 2004
    USA
    Hello folks,
    The time of papers is quickly approaching. I am a graduate student pursuing a Master's degree. I have come up with several options of topics that I think would be most interesting. However, it seems as if I would not be able to substantiate the topics that I propose in a definite position. I am not a big academia person. The papers I have read for inspiration and guidelines have been technical, dry, and very boring. So, my question to you:

If you would like to read a paper for pleasure that had something to do (or in relation) with the trumpet, what would you like to read about?

Thank you for your inpt and time. I have pm'ed several people with questions such as this before and I thank them all for their responses. It is now time to open it to the public realm. Also, please be specific in your answers. For example, do not say "breathing" without including information on what you would like to know such as the uniqueness of each "method" out there but how they all pretty much say the same thing, or how the respatory muscles work, or... etc.

Take care and Keep Blowin',
    Tim

2. screamingmorris

screamingmorris Mezzo Forte User

Apr 4, 2007
    It was in a circa 1980 interview for Charles Kuralt that Maynard Ferguson said that music is a *business* (something that many starry-eyed musicians tend to forget).
    If you don't know and take care of the *business* aspect of it, you won't be a successful musician for very long.

The business side of music has changed.

The big bands were huge in the 30's.

The bands got singers in the 40's.

The singers went solo in the '50's.

The big bands mostly went out of business by the 60's.