Question from a total Newbie....

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Likesspace, Jan 12, 2011.

1. Likesspace

Likesspace New Friend

Jan 8, 2011
    Hey guys.....

I'm a newbie when it comes to trumpet playing, (acutally I'm playing a cornet), so please bear with some stupid questions....

When my 10 year old daughter plays her trumpet she has a nice "full" sound.

I on the other hand sometimes can make the same nice full sound but other times my sound comes out.....I don't know, sort of airy. Like there is air escaping from the cornet.

I have tried different tests to make sure that the cornet isn't leaking air and feel confident that the instrument is solid in that regard. In fact even when I use my daughters trumpet I get this same airy sound (at times).

I've noticed that when I first begin to play this is not so much a problem. It's after I've been playing for a half hour or so that it shows up. Because of that I'm becoming convinced that my lips are simply getting tired and are not sitting in the mouthpiece as they should but being an absolute beginner I have no way of knowing if I'm correct.

My daughter (who is convinced that she is the greatest teacher in the universe), simply tells me to relax my lips and BLOW HARD but so far this advice hasn't helped a lot. I know I'm doing something wrong, I just don't know what it is.

If anyone has any advice I'd really love to hear it. I don't expect to ever be great at the trumpet, (or even good for that matter), but man it's a really relaxing thing to just go back into my office and spend an hour or so tryying to play.

By the way, tonight when I was complaining about this airy sound my daughter grabbed the cornet and played it perfectly so I know it's not the instrument.

Thanks in advance for any advice you might have and I'll try to keep the stupid questions to a minimum.

Dave

2. trumpetup

trumpetup Piano User

Jan 12, 2009
    Godley, Texas