Question: Trumpet Lessons For Young Children

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by bcrdukes, Dec 9, 2014.

1. bcrdukes

bcrdukes New Friend

Jan 22, 2013
    Vancouver, BC
    Hi folks,

I learned over the weekend that a close family friend's daughter is interested in a trumpet for Christmas.

Interestingly enough and to our surprise, both the parents and myself play the trumpet (the parents no longer play.) She is a 4 year old and where she got the idea of learning to play the trumpet has bewildered us. I have a spare Old's Ambassador I'm willing to pass on to them since it's just collecting dust.

What is the recommended age range a child should start learning the trumpet? Do any of you folks have experience to share? We're all curious as we didn't start until we were at least 11/12 years of age. We feel that being a 4 year old might be a bit too early. Thanks!

Mike

2. VetPsychWars

VetPsychWars Fortissimo User

Nov 8, 2006
    Greenfield WI
    In my opinion, way too early... though I have seen some four-year olds who acted 10 or 12.

I started at 10, I think.

Tom

3. larry tscharner

larry tscharner Forte User

Apr 30, 2010
    dubuque iowa