Questions about double tonguing

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Ryoh, May 28, 2011.

1. Ryoh

Ryoh New Friend

May 25, 2011
    Elizabeth City, NC
    I've been playing for about four years, and I've never found an opening where double tonguing is completely necessary. I'm a freshman in high school (almost a sophomore, exams are this week). I've tried learning to double tongue, and though I'm better than some of my peers who've made less effort, there's still a hesitant gap in my air flow and a harsh attack that I hate.

I know I'll have to learn it at some point to get as far as I want to, and I want to know how to do it. I was wondering if I should be making this a priority right now. By when should I know how to do this?
    And can anyone give me some advice to help me learn this technique better?

2. abtrumpet

abtrumpet Pianissimo User

Nov 14, 2009
    The sooner the better, right? Especially if it's required in the music you're playing. Do you have a teacher? It would really be easier than learning over the internet. If not, just do a search for "double tonguing" on here; there are hundreds of threads on it already.

3. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

I would work on two things to improve your double tonguing:
    1) Making a "ku" sound as strong as your "tu"
    2) Continuous air flow - "blow through the notes"
    The second is kind of hard to describe, but a teacher could probably explain it better - its just the image i use

4. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

Oh and books to check out (for double tonguing)
    Arban
    Sigmund Hering Double and Triple Tonguing
    Complete Shuebruk Tongue Trainers for Trumpet

5. CaptainAddy

CaptainAddy Pianissimo User

Nov 14, 2010
    Camden County, GA