Questions about Trumpet Professors

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trumpet obsession, Sep 12, 2013.

1. trumpet obsession

trumpet obsession New Friend

Dec 9, 2011
    I am currently a high school student and I hope to go to college in trumpet performance. I am seriously considering the Cinncinnati conservatory of Music but the reviews that I have read on Dr. Alan Sieburt are not good by any means of the spectrum. I am looking for advice on if these reviews are true or not. If they are true, then I need some advice on an affortable conservatory of music. Thanks in advance.

2. dBeav

dBeav Pianissimo User

May 1, 2013
    Detroit Area
    Well he did graduate from Michigan, so I wouldn't trust him (Go Green!) :D

3. Solar Bell

Solar Bell Moderator Staff Member

May 11, 2005
    Metro Detroit
    Yeah, Michigan State has a grate music program! LOL

Just something else State cannot compete with Michigan in.

4. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas
    Isn't Cincinnati Gmonady's Alma Mater?

5. kehaulani

kehaulani Fortissimo User

May 14, 2011
    Hawaian homey
    Source(s)? Link(s).

6. Dr.Mark

Dr.Mark Mezzo Forte User

Apr 5, 2011
    The problem:
    The individual is already negatively predisposed.
    ------------
    Possible solution:
    Don't go there, go somewhere else. If your goal is to be a trumpet performance major, what do you think your chances of survival are if you're skeptical of the guy who's to be your trumpet yoda, the instructor handing out the grades and the professor determining who graduates?
    -------------
    If you're up for a challenge and got what it takes (and I mean that seriously), enroll at The University of North Texas. They are tough, no nonsense, high octane, seriously competitive, extremely talented and that's all before lunch!! Just be careful that you are not jumping from the frying pan to the fire.