Questions about tuning

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by dpa10, Oct 6, 2009.

1. dpa10

dpa10 New Friend

Sep 15, 2009
    Hi all,
    I'm a newbie to the trumpet although I've been playing guitar for a while and have soem knowledge of music theory and a good knowledge of physics.

I've searched high and low here on elsewhere about tuning and have read a wide range of descriptions about the main tuning slide.

Here is what I've surmised.
    Please correct me if my assumptions are incorrect.
    If I put the slide in various positions I can always lip the trumpet back to pitch via embochure and air flow. It appears the key is to find the position of the slide that give optimum resonance for the fundamental pitch I'm tuning to to give me the richest sound.

It also appears that there is a wide range of embochure and air flow combos for any given pitch and this effects the overall tone quality.

I'm sure this is easy as pie for experienced players, but for those new to the intrument (and overly analytical :-)) I just want to know the best method for setting the tuning for optimum tone.

I did hear somewhere that "bending" the pitch up or down and looking for the sweet spot is a good way to tune.

Appreciate any attention to this.

Thanks,

Dean

2. VetPsychWars

VetPsychWars Fortissimo User

Nov 8, 2006
    Greenfield WI
    More or less correct as far as it goes. You'll also want to have the main slide in a position where the "trouble notes" can more easily be lipped into tune. That will depend on whether your first slide has an intonation aid or not.

Basically, pick the position that gives you the best average pitch and resonance on as many notes as possible.

Tom

3. Bachstul

Bachstul Mezzo Forte User

Jan 25, 2009
    There is much about trumpet playing common with singing, as far as "in tune" goes
    You have to hear the note in your head before you project it. Practice makes you "lock" in.

4. dpa10

dpa10 New Friend

Sep 15, 2009
    Hi Tom,