Questions

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mcburgerguy94, Sep 4, 2010.

1. mcburgerguy94

mcburgerguy94 New Friend

Nov 10, 2009
    yep
    I have three question

First off I'm a junior in highschool I'm currently in Jazz Band I (out of three) Symphonic I and II (I play french horn in Sym II) and the symphony orchestra.

I'm really interested in pursuing music as a career and have been looking at a few music schools across the country, and as I've been looking at the audition requirements I've noticed "two contrasting etudes" on almost, if not, every school. My first question is what would be the best book for etudes of the sort.

Second question: as I previously mentioned I'm playing french horn in my sym II class. I just started playing this year and I'm wondering if this will be detrimental to my trumpet embouchure?

Third and final question: I prefer to play on large mouthpieces. Over the past three years I've played on a 1 1/2C for Concert and A 1D for marching. I've had no problems playing with a good tone and "in their faces" as my director would say, but I have had problems maintaing my extreme range with these, because I get fatigued easily with them. Is there any mouthpiece that will help keep my endurance but have the same feel as the others?

Thanks for reading

2. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    -----
    1) Contact the various music schools (trumpet professor) that you are interested in what are the best etude books to prepare yourself to go to their school.
    2) Will it be detrimental? Has it been detrimental so far? If there's no problem, don't look for one.
    3)If you feel the size is causing fatigue, then go smaller. Unfortunately, there's a prevailing wind in the trumpet world that says "If you sound great on a medium or small mouthpiece, then you'll sound super great on a toliet bowl size mouthpiece." This is just balony.