Quiting

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by sean007r, Feb 7, 2008.

1. sean007r

sean007r Piano User

Nov 19, 2003
    Des Plaines IL
    A few notes before you read...
    * The director in questions was a friend at one time
    * The director in question has his own personal problems
    * The director in question is a GREAT musician/organist/vocalist
    * I am not a paid professional
    * I play this gig for FREE
    * I can transpose, but do not like to during GIG because....
    I know that transposing is one less thing I have to worry about
    when trying to make "music"
    * I am NOT a Viva, but rather a very humble trumpet player that LOVES
    to play but is filled with self-doubt because I know what a GREAT player should be!

So a few months ago "A Music Director" of a "venue" that I play at for free really pissed me off for the last time.

Basically he had given me a part that was not transposed correctly.
    The notes were for a c trumpet but the key signature was for Bb

Rather that having to think too much for the gig I decided to rewrite it so I wouldn't screw up.

an hour before we ran through the piece and I found my new copy to fit correctly. I assumed I missed a measure or something.

I had the director take a look at it and after a minute or two he just responded with... well I don’t know what you did, but every group I've hired before has played it just fine the way it was written originally

While he may be right the fact remains that I am NOT a paid professional
    I’m just some chump that plays for free and takes food away from paid professionals

Well that was the end for me.
    After "the gig" I gave him all the music and books I had and told him I quit

He was, at one time a friend, so I heard that he thought I was joking through other friends