Range Frustration Issues for a "New" Player.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by cloudnine, Jan 22, 2010.

1. cloudnine

cloudnine Pianissimo User

Jun 5, 2008
    First, some background: I've been playing for a little over a year and a half. I'm a university student and music major who started my program as a guitarist, but when I fell in love with jazz I also fell out of love with guitar and madly in it with trumpet. In June of '08 I decided to pick up a trumpet and loved it instantly. I decided shortly thereafter to make it my main instrument and devote all of my time and musical energy to it.

I love playing it. I love the instrument. I love the sounds it makes and the amount of passion, energy, and shaping you can do with the instrument. My favourite jazz artists are trumpeters. I've been practicing a ton almost every day, as well as 3 hour rehearsals twice a week and private lessons. I try to do 2-3 hours a day, and I admit they're not always extremely structured practice sessions, but I do a reasonable amount of work on long tones, lip slurs, scales, etcetera.

I've seen a marked improvement in almost every area since I started. Tone production, intonation, finger accuracy, the whole shebang. But one thing that has barely improved at all is my range. I'm not talking real "range" here - I mean basic, above-the-staff stuff. My usable range is basically low F# to F above the staff, and even that one's tough after 2 hours of playing. Sure, I can grasp at Gs, Ab/G#s, As, but to say that I've really "hit" them would be a lie.