Range Improvement

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by PaigeBurnett, Nov 25, 2011.

1. PaigeBurnett

PaigeBurnett New Friend

Nov 18, 2011
    You probably get range questions a lot so hopefully nothing will be repeated!
    But, I am a grade 10 student, but I didn't do music in grade 9, I am only relying on my prior grade 6,7 and 8 elementary school skills. It shows in my playing, but I have been able to keep up decently with my class mates. The only thing that really shows is in my range. On a good day I can hit the G above the staff :bash: but I need to be able to hit the C. Tips and exercises would be much appreciated! I have read a few of these forums and you all seem like very intelligent and knowledgeable people! Thanks!

2. Mark_Kindy

Mark_Kindy Mezzo Forte User

Jul 11, 2010
    Gainesville, FL
    This is a dangerous topic to tread here. Good luck...haha

But this may help; just don't overthink it:

When you use more air, but prevent the aperture from increasing in size, then it acts like putting your thumb over the end of a hose. The water pressure increases internally, and the water speeds up and shoots out. Likewise, air will do the same. If you move more air through, it will cause the air to speed up. Speeding up the air (and therefore the vibrations) is what causes pitch to rise. You can test this by starting on a low C, and blow "harder" while maintaining the same sized hole for the air to move through. At some point, the pitch should change to second line G, in the staff.

If we just blow more air, but don't keep the aperture the same size, the air does not speed up; there is just more of it. This then causes an increase in volume (dynamic), instead of the desired pitch change.