Range in the first year

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Weevie, Jun 1, 2010.

1. Weevie

Weevie New Friend

May 31, 2010
    Gloucestershire, UK
    I've been playing the guitar for years and the trumpet for just 4 months. I'm amazed at how physically demanding the trumpet is. When I started I couldn't play for longer than 30 seconds (yeah I do mean seconds!) and as for range......? On a guitar you just move down the fingerboard - how easy is that?

What I'm wondering is how long does it take to develop a useful playing range. At the moment I can hit a third space C, as long as I'm fresh and have warmed-up properly. How long does it take for beginners to get up to a G above the stave for instance? I realise that different people will progress at different rates; I'm just looking for a ball park figure here.

Thanks for your help.

2. ExtraTeeth

ExtraTeeth Pianissimo User

Nov 13, 2008
    Perth, Western Australia
    Top line F or G is achievable within the first year. However, the quality of the note is more important. You will find that your sound will thin out towards the top of your range. I found it helpful to concentrate on improving the sound quality at that point where it tends to go off.

3. craigph

craigph Piano User

Mar 12, 2010
    Japan
    You mean C5 I assume - the C above middle C?
    see here if you don't know what C5 means:
    C (musical note) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia