Range

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by barato, Feb 5, 2007.

1. barato

barato New Friend

Jan 17, 2007
    Somewhere in Ohio
    What is everyone's range here? Mine was probably a double D... pretty pathetic but I am also a Freshman in high school, lol. Now with braces, it faded down to a very angry A, first one above the staff. I have been practicing with Max Schlossberg Daily Drills and Technical Studies, and have been improving with different breathing techniques. Other than that what is your range ( high range, and/or low range )?

2. wiseone2

wiseone2 Artitst in Residence Staff Member

Nov 19, 2003
    Brooklyn,NY
    A double D is higher than just about any piece in the symphonic or trumpet solo repertoire calls for.
    How is your sound? Do you know ALL your major and minor scales? Do you have a knowledge of solfeggio? These are questions that I would ask of a high school freshman.Range will come, work on music first.
    Wilmer

3. eisprl

eisprl Mezzo Piano User

Sep 26, 2004
    Halifax, NS CANADA
    Lets just say that I can play whatever the director puts in front of me (range wise anyway). I can play my lowest note and I can play high notes (on a really good day I can play a really high note). ;-) Notice I don't say "my highest note" is etc etc. In order for me to say that I would have to OWN that note. In other words be able to play it over and over and over again without ever getting tired. Only then would I call it "my" note.

There you go, a wierd response to a wierd question. Instead of getting into the proverbial pissing contest that so many trumpet players can get into let me say that 'range' goes both ways (up and down). If you wanted to know how 'high' people can play, just ask that. (just a little pet pieve of mine)

That being said I can play a low F#.

E.

4. barato

barato New Friend

Jan 17, 2007
    Somewhere in Ohio