Re-Learning Trumpet & Sight Reading Music

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ruralist, Nov 30, 2009.

1. ruralist

ruralist New Friend

Nov 27, 2009
    Thermalands, California
    I am new to this forum and suspect I will not be posting much but would like some advice with respect to using guitar/piano song books while practicing playing the trumpet. Are there any pitfalls there or things I should be aware of? I feel that my sight reading is helped by just grabbing a book and hacking out a song--Is this good/smart practice or not?

2. Phil986

Phil986 Forte User

Nov 16, 2009
    Near Portland, OR.
    Some years ago when I started playing I took a guitar book and rewrote a number of tunes in it for Bb trumpet within my range. It was all around good practice. What you do will probably help your sight-reading, just like any other way of exercising it. However, music written for the guitar will be in concert key and oblivious of numerous specific elements of trumpet playing that are especially important for beginners. A good book for sight reading is "Le debutant trompettiste" by Vanetelbosch, can be found on sheetmusicplus.

3. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY
    I can't see anything wrong with playing out of a piano or guitar book as written , as long as your playing by yourself or with another trumpet or Bb pitched instrument. If your going to play along with someone playing piano or guitar then you have to transpose everything up a whole step.

4. ruralist

ruralist New Friend

Nov 27, 2009
    Thermalands, California
    Thanks for refereshing my brain which has been filled with civil engineering stuff for the last twenty years. I should have remebered this since tuning to a concert "Bb" means I play a "C"--one whole step up.