record midi files

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by BILL VAN, Apr 27, 2009.

1. BILL VAN

BILL VAN Pianissimo User

Jan 29, 2007
    Pompano Beach
    Hi, There is a web site that has midi files and I want to record a song. How do I do this? Do I have to get it on I tunes? I am new at this but do have the equipment to do so. Thanks

2. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008
    Not exactly sure what you're trying to do. If you go to a website that has a link to a Midi then you should be able to right-click on it and save it to your computer.

3. edfitzvb

edfitzvb Forte User

Jun 10, 2008
    Woodlawn, VA
    Can you be more specific about "recording a song?" Do you want to add a trumpet to an existing MIDI sequence and record it? Do you want to write a MIDI sequence to play a trumpet line you have in your head? The answers are different, depending upon the actual question. Please elaborate on your actual goal and the equipment that you have and i will try to help.

4. Sofus

Sofus Forte User

Jul 26, 2008
    When you say that you have the equipment,
    what exactly is that equipment?

Recording a song could mean:

* Copy a midi song from internet
    * Copy a midi song from your computer to your mp3 player
    * Record your own playing trumpet with a microphone
    and convert it to an mp3 file

There are web sites easily found where free midi files
    are available.
    If you want to make your own trumpet recordings in a
    microphone, then you´ll need a program like for instance
    Cubase.

Please explain so we all can help you . . .:-)

5. BILL VAN

BILL VAN Pianissimo User

Jan 29, 2007
    Pompano Beach
    There is a song on another site w/o melody just back up. I have a blank cd I can put in my computer and record it.Or how do I get the song in my comp then record it?

6. Sofus

Sofus Forte User

Jul 26, 2008
    * You can COPY it to your CD.
    * If you have a soundcard with
    its own sounds, you can also HEAR it