Recovering from an injury..

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Silver, Mar 30, 2005.

1. Silver

Silver New Friend

Mar 29, 2005
    Just found this forum, and thought I would shoot a question to you--

Just a little background, I got my masters from UNT 12 years ago or so, and have been playing on ships/road bands/subs for orchestras/ basically anything that pays for the last 11 years.

I had a bruise on my lower lip that would not go away, and come to find out it's a ruptured blood vessel that would not heal. Had to have laser surgery to remove the vein, so no physical scaring occured. I was told to take a year off the horn, to let things heal -- that time is up and am trying to come back--

Would you have any advice or experince bringing someone back from an injury? And/or coming back after not playing for a year? Right now just trying to form an embource is a major chore, and getting anything out of the horn resembling a sound is not happening atm. I'm sure some of this is mental, but prob some also to do with not playing/ and the injury.

Any advice?

Thanks

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Silver,

First, you have to remember the folowing:

Bud Herseth wrecked his mouth in a car accident in 1954

Tommy Stevens had to take time off from the LA Phil because of damage done to his mouth by his dog

Phil Smith had a hiatal hernia that kept him out of the Ny Phil for almost two months

Rafael Mendez had a door swing open on his mouth and put him out of commission for many months.

If they could do it, so can you.

It's all about the sound that enticed you to play trumpet in the first place. The fact of the matter is that your embouchure is going to be different than it was but the sound in your head never changes. Forget about trying to find the old embouchure... it's gone. Try to find the old sound, whatever it takes.