Recovering from lip bruise

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Ahenderson, Oct 16, 2008.

1. Ahenderson

Ahenderson New Friend

Oct 16, 2008
    I got bashed in the upper lip unfortunately and got a tiny bruise a couple of months ago (4-5) and I can still feel some sort of tiny mound inside, I'm wondering if it actually hinders my playing and if I could do anything about it. I've been playing for around 6 years, and would hate to stop progressing somehow.. Thanks a million.

2. TisEkard

TisEkard Pianissimo User

Jul 28, 2006
    L.A./Orange County CA
    If you are serious about playing, I would highly recommend finding someone near you who knows the Stamp method. It has helped many seasoned players get back on their toes after injury.

3. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008
    Wow. 4 - 5 months sounds like a long time. Mave you asked your doctor about it?

"I would highly recommend finding someone near you who knows the Stamp method"

What is the Stamp method?

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    If you have a daily routine, you know immediately if something is worse.
    If your playing is pretty close to what it was before, I would not think about it anymore. Just practice softly (the best way in any case) and play!

5. Ahenderson

Ahenderson New Friend

Oct 16, 2008
    Hm, true, I should probably stop fretting then, alright, I'll try doing more clarke exercises, so I can be somewhat reassured : ) . Thanks a bunch for the replies!

6. et_mike

et_mike Mezzo Forte User

Oct 16, 2007
    Chesapeake, VA
    Just remember to do the Clarke exercises softly.... very softly.... very very softly.... very very very softly.... and even softer yet....

7. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY