Regaining Range

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by tjm127, Apr 13, 2011.

1. tjm127

tjm127 New Friend

Jan 22, 2011
    Hey all,

I posted here a couple months ago concerning a busted embouchure, and this is a follow-up. I'm a freshman in college who play(ed) lead with the jazz band, and had a consistent range of an easy double C. Then, over the course of December, my chops deteriorated mysteriously in terms of accuracy and endurance until one day in January when they fell apart and I literally lost my ability to buzz on a trumpet.

Now, after a month off the horn and after following the advice of the kind posters on this forum, I managed to slowly work myself back to a level somewhat approaching my former self. By mid-March (two months after my injury or whatever it was), my tone was completely back, as was my endurance, and my range was sitting at a comfortable Eb/E above high C. This just from playing scales, etudes, and just working my way back into playing. However, I now seem to have hit a wall - I just can't get over the "E" hump, and I very recently seem to be regressing a little. Now, I never had to WORK for my range in the past - I just kinda played scales and everything else just happened - and now I am at an utter loss as to how to push past this wall. It's especially scary BECAUSE it used to be so easy, and I'm afraid I may have done something to my chops or embouchure which has robbed me of that ability.

Does anybody have any advice for regaining my range? Do "comeback players" (I don't know if an injury and a month off puts me in that category) typically have trouble with this kind of thing at first? I kinda expected everything to come rushing back once I got my foundation back, especially the range, but it just isn't happening yet. I KNOW I have a double C, or even just an F, in there...it just doesn't want to come out :/

2. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia