Relaxed embouchure

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by reedy, Jun 12, 2011.

1. reedy

reedy Piano User

Jul 31, 2009
    Wiltshire, UK
    My teacher noticed my embouchure change during a lesson last week and isnt quite sure what to make of it....

basically what happens is I relax my chops at around middle G and bellow and tighten them a little above, there is a bit of a cross over, I can play around a C with this relaxed embouchure but can play with a tighter one down to around a bottom C but anything bellow I cant help but relax.

I started doing this when I started playing Cat Andersons 20 minute G and just relaxed on it.

I dont really have a problem with it, the sound is good occasionally tuning is not....
    switching between the two is fine, I can go up and down 2 octive scales fine but seem to have hit a 'brick wall' around top C, Ive been doing the same lip slurs for 6 months and have not really got anywhere, I can scream out top D's and E's with a shallow piece but im sure thats just because I use more pressure and not my technique. could that be my relaxed embouchure or just not enough practice....?

my teacher believes I should have one embouchure for the whole range

so what should I do?

keep this relaxed embouchure and develop it so I have a bigger cross over and so easier to change?

or should I try and reduce it so I use it less and so have the one setting for everything?

Thanks

2. mandyg233

mandyg233 New Friend

Jun 4, 2011
    New Jersey
    I agree with your teacher, one embouchure is much better. It might take awhile for you to make the switch (I was doing it incorrectly too and it took me about a month to get back to one embouchure) but it's totally worth it. If you keep switching between the two, eventually you'll start to favor one and the other will weaken.

3. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA