Relearning to count rhythms

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ♠♥CORNET♣♦, Oct 9, 2015.

1. ♠♥CORNET♣♦

♠♥CORNET♣♦ Pianissimo User

Oct 18, 2014
    New Jersey
    I have been playing trumpet for 6 years. The first 3 years I did not care about the trumpet and I would only practice about 30 minutes a week. But then I started to take it seriously and now I practice for about 2 hours a day. I am always first trumpet in every band I am in, and everyone compliments me on my tone and ability to play difficult pieces of music.

When ever we get new music to learn I kind of make it up and play what I think is right. But the moment I get home I listen to the song on YouTube a few times and learn it by listening and looking at the notes. Then during a rehearsal I know how the song goes and so I am able to play it. Most of the other members of the band do not listen to the song but they are able to play it almost perfectly without ever hearing it before. I asked a few of them how they do this and they tell me they do this by counting.

The truth is I can't count. I think because the first three years I did not pay attention to anything and would just fool around with my friends, I never learned to count. Now I realize that I need and want to learn. So I ask you how should I learn to count?
    Sorry about the long explanation, but please help!

One more question: When you are playing a piece that you already have practiced 100s of times do you still count?
    Thank you

2. Culbe

Culbe Forte User

Jul 25, 2014
    Normal
    Maybe you're supposed to, but I don't. I would know it well enough to play without thinking, even the valves lock into place.

3. J. Jericho

J. Jericho Fortissimo User

Mar 16, 2011
    Get a copy of Develop Sight Reading, by Charles Colin. Playing that stuff will tire your brain in a hurry :stars:, but in time you will learn to count and to sightread. :bravo:

4. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006